Kale-Pesto-Garlic Pizza

Okay, so I am trying to write this up and got the whole thing typed up, including the dough, and I lost it! Argh. Here it goes again.

Amazingly flavored pizza.

Okay, so I have a TON of kale in my year (anyone local feel free to come harvest sometime), and saw a kale and onion pizza while cruising recipes. While David is not particularly a fan of onion, I thought it was worthwhile to riff off that idea, having never had kale on a pizza before. Needless to say this turned out AMAZING, and I will be making it again VERY soon. So one of my secret weapons of weeknight cooking is having a ton of flavors already ready to go, so when I made the dough on my afternoon break today (thank you WFH), I grabbed some of the following out of the freezer to thaw:

  • cranberry pesto
  • carmelised onions
  • roasted garlic cloves
  • sautéed mushrooms

To make the pizza I started with a base of pesto, then covered the whole thing with kale I had ripped up and lightly tossed with roasted garlic oil (if you are not a fan of tossing things, you’re missing out), anyway added roasted garlic, then on my half tasty delicious carmelised onions, on David’s half…fungus, and then goat cheese throughout. A bit of salt and pepper, and then tossed it in to bake fr 12 minutes at 450F. It was FANTASTIC. I mean, the margharita pizza after with fresh basil from the garden was a chore, and that is saying something (I LOVE margharita pizza). I will be making this again VERY shortly.

-E

Tagged

Leave a comment