Beef Goulash

gou·lash
ˈɡo͞oˌläSH,ˈɡo͞oˌlaSH/
noun
1. a highly seasoned Hungarian soup or stew of meat and vegetables, flavored with paprika.

After a ridiculously long absence, I am back on Morris Morsels. No I didn’t stop cooking for the past year, I just stopped blogging about it. Though those of you who know me FB-wise have continued to see occasional food posts. Anywho, over Christmas I showed some family the dormant blog, and they convinced me to start it back up again (thanks C, U.S. and D). So no promises on how often I will add here, but I will just continue to tell you sometimes what I make and how I made it, I hope to hear from you in the comments.

Tonight, I dug out a “one pot” cookbook I had been disappointed by in the past, and thought I would give their Hungarian inspired soup a shot. Beef Goulash Soup (we know, it’s a redundant title).

 

 

I upped the paprika a bit (because: Hungarian!) and instead of using a pasta added homemade spaetzle (because: Hungarian! plus, um spaetzle are awesome.) So here’s the low-down:

What I used:

  • A pound(ish) of ground beef
  • Half an onion diced
  • Diced garlic
  • Rice flour (can use regular of course)
  • Beef broth
  • A can of diced tomatoes
  • Roasted bell pepper
  • A carrot
  • Seasonings (paprika, S&P and oregano)
  • Spaetzle (don’t worry Colette there’s an easy alternative)
  • Sour cream

What I did:

  1. Brown the ground beef in a soup pot
  2. Add diced onion and garlic, cooked for a few minutes
  3. Add two tablespoons rice flour mix and cook a minute
  4. Add 4 cups or so of broth and scrape off bottom of pan
  5. Add diced tomato, diced up bell pepper, carrot, teaspoon of paprika, pinch of oregano, S&P to taste.
  6. Simmer for half hour or more
  7. Cook Spaetzle noodles into the soup, serve with a dollop of sour cream on top.*

*Note, I only added spaetzle cause it seemed like a perfect end to the Hungarian nature of the dish, you could use any sort of pasta, or even tortilla chips.

It turned out great, I really like the creaminess of the soup once the sour cream was mixed in, and other than the long simmering time, it was super easy/fast to make (I cheated and used jarred roasted bell pepper.) Will definitely make this again.

Leave a Reply

