Honey Pepper Beef

Very rarely do I find myself surprised by a dish. I have cooked for a while now, and generally can anticipate how a dish will turn out. Last night I was very pleasantly surprised.

Last weekend my husband and I pored over some cookbooks to get some new and fresh ideas. One of the cookbooks was a Stir Fry one. As you know I tend strongly toward being half Italian and half Thai, so I got TONS of ideas for Stir Fry. On the menu last night was a Cashew Chicken dish, but after some friends rescheduled dinner I got a little lazy and didn’t start thinking about dinner until 6:20. By that point cutting chicken off the bone, dipping and coating the chicken etc was not something I was interested in, so I flipped through the book for a new idea and landed on Honey Pepper Beef. I decided to make that (well just the sauce, but still.) Anyway as the dish was a basic stir fry (fry up a protein, remove, fry up veggies, remove, make sauce, add all together, heat through and serve) I decided to go my own way and then make the Honey Pepper Sauce…the result was OUTSTANDING. The only spice is black pepper, but due to the sugar of the honey and the salt of the oyster and soy sauces, the result is complex, flavorful and hot, but without any black pepper taste. Like I said, I am still surprised.

Image of a bowl of rice and beef stir fry

Here is the Honey Pepper Beef about to be consumed…

Anyway, here is what I made, feel free to go your own direction by ignoring everything but the sauce, especially since that was what I did 🙂

What I used:

  • Cheap-o beef thinly sliced (a little less than a pound just cause that is what I had)
  • About five asparagus spears cut in half and any fat bottoms cut in half again (The veggies really were just open the fridge and see what I needed to use this would rock with broccoli)
  • Some sliced red pepper
  • Three spring onions, the white ends sliced, the greens in bigger pieces and set aside separately
  • A spoonful of diced garlic
  • 2T-ish Oyster Sauce
  • 2T-ish honey
  • 1T-ish soy sauce
  • <1T-ish black pepper
  • Veggie oil for frying
  • A very seasoned wok

 

What I did:

  1. Start your rice maker. (If you don’t have a rice maker go to Amazon, buy a rice maker, and return to step 1 when it arrives.)
  2. Heat some oil in the wok, add sliced beef (maybe half at a time) and stir fry until close to done, set aside in a big bowl lined with paper towels.
  3. Do the same with the other half of the beef, set aside.
  4. Heat a bit more oil and add the asparagus pieces, cook up a bit.
  5. Add the pepper slices and cook up a bit more.
  6. Add the white part of the onions and the garlic, stir up only a minute more then dump the whole thing on top of the beef (scrape out the garlic pieces to they don’t burn and mix into the sauce.)
  7. In the now empty wok add about 1T of soy sauce, 2T each of Oyster Sauce and honey, and then a little less than 1T of black pepper, stir cook it together for a couple minutes.
  8. When it looks all nice and infused together, add the contents of the big bowl back in, stir to coat, and reheat anything that has cooled. It should look like the pic below.
  9. Serve over rice and enjoy.

If you decide to give this sauce a try I would love to hear what you think about it. Did you like the heat/flavor, did you taste the black pepper, etc. Good luck and…

Guten Appetit!

Cooked dish in wok

Seriously. This was delicious. I am making it again this weekend.

Leave a Reply

