Chicken Alfredo

One of my favorite comfort foods is my variation on a classic: Chicken Alfredo. To make it just a tad healthier, and frankly even better I have added asparagus below. Basically this is composed of several parts: Cooked spaghetti (or any pasta obviously, the leftovers were awesome on fusilli), cooked diced chicken, lightly steamed vegetable (in this case asparagus) and a creamy alfredo-ish sauce. Which is what I will discuss here.

IMG_1905

 

What I used:

  • butter
  • rice flour (any flour works, I like rice flour’s consistency and GFness)
  • milk (or 1/2 and 1/2, but I used milk cause I needed to use it up)
  • garlic powder
  • salt and pepper
  • parmesan cheese

First thing you do is make a roux, which is at the core of most sauces, and might at first blush sound intimidatingly French. A roux basically is just a paste of a fat (in this case butter, but in a gravy might be meat drippings) and flour (I almost always use rice flour for the above mentioned reasons. And so if Aimee my GF cousin pops by I can still feed her.)  Estimates are serious guestimates. Be warned.

What to do:

  • Add a couple of tablespoons of butter to a pan and melt.
  • Once melted add a similar number of tablespoons of the flour. Mix with a whisk into a paste. (The thicker the paste the more you will thin it out. I like making mine rather thick so that I can make it go further on less butter. Anyways, this will always be trial and error)
  • Once it is a thick slightly bubbling mass you keep whisking.
  • While you continue to whisk at medium heat (pick up edges and corners, and the bottom so nothing burns) slowly add your milk. (Maybe a cup at first)
  • Then whisk it in, it will quickly at first, then in subsequent rounds slowly thicken.
  • Continue to whisk and add liquid until it is the desired thickness. (Dip a spoon in coating the back, run your finger through the sauce, if the line stays clean it is perfect.)
  • Add seasonings to taste.
  • Add shredded parmesan, and melt it in.
  • Add diced chicken and steamed veg.
  • Stir together and serve over cooked pasta with a sprinkling of parma overtop.
  • Enjoy creamy delicious Italian-ish comfort food.

Guten Appetit!

 

Tagged , , , , ,

3 thoughts on “Chicken Alfredo

  1. […] using a cheese sauce. And since it will be super simple given last week’s discussion of Chicken Alfredo thought I would put it in […]

  2. Tabitha says:

    At first I thought you had green peppers in this. When I saw it was asparagus that made more sense but now I want to try it with green peppers. #weirdoalert

Leave a Reply

