Taco Soup

This a good one to do in the crock-pot while you’re away, or mix it up and cook it in the evening, for the next few day’s lunches. I really like the inclusion of the Ranch seasoning packet, I think I picked that up off of a Paula Deen recipe once. Anyhoot. Forgot to take a picture when I was cooking it, so here it is before I stuck it in the freezer. We love this one with cheddar melted in, a spoonful of sour cream and some crushed up tortilla chips.

IMG_1813

 

 

What I used:

  • Ground beef
  • Half an onion, diced
  • Diced garlic
  • Green pepper, diced
  • Black beans
  • Kidney beans
  • Canned diced tomatoes
  • Beef broth
  • Taco seasoning
  • Ranch dip packet
  • Frozen corn

 

What I did:

  1. Brown the beef, onion and garlic
  2. Add all the rest of the ingredients
  3. Simmer until done (flavors are all blended)

Pretty darn simple. Even simpler in the crock-pot! Step one, then mix it all up in the crock-pot and six hours on low you have a wonderful soup.

2 thoughts on “Taco Soup

  1. Tabitha says:

    I would not have thought of the ranch packet. Interesting.

    • Vagabondista says:

      That’s what I thought, but especially in the crock pot it is a positive addition. I didn’t feel like it made much of an impact on the stovetop (maybe simmer time difference)

Leave a Reply

