Sandwich Bread

It’s catch up time here on my blog as it took a bit to get the pictures loaded from the camera, so prepare for a few posts tonight.

Last Saturday I had some girlfriends over for “bread-making lessons.” This is my standard sandwich bread. I got the recipe from a friends mom, and it has been a staple in our house for years. I make two loaves at a time, then slice one of them for the freezer. If you are in a country with Great Harvest, this reminds me a lot of their white bread. I suspect it has to do with the awesome-ness of the honey. 🙂

Image

What I Used:

  • 3 cups water
  • 1/2 cup honey
  • 2 T olive oil
  • 1 1/2 T yeast
  • 1 T salt
  • 9 cups flour

What I did:

  1. Combine the water, honey and oil (I find using a Pyrex pitcher the best for measuring.)
  2. Microwave for a couple of minutes until quite warm and stir to combine.
  3. Add to a mixer and add yeast.
  4. Allow the yeast to proof for ten or so minutes.
  5. Add 3 cups of flour and the salt. Mix with paddle.
  6. Add 3 more cups of flour and mix again.
  7. Switch to dough hook.
  8. Add 3 more cups of flour until incorporated.
  9. Remove and knead for ages.
  10. Place into a greased bowl and let rise covered for 30 minutes
  11. Punch dough down, split in two, form 2 loaves
  12. Place loaves in greased bread pans, let rise covered another 30 minutes
  13. Cut three slits across the top
  14. Bake at 350 for 35-40 minutes.
  15. Allow to cool COMPLETELY before slicing.

It sounds like a lot, but it is actually pretty simple, and only takes two hours. Well worth it for the deliciousness. I will leave you with one of my favorite ways to enjoy it….

Image

Tagged ,

2 thoughts on “Sandwich Bread

Leave a Reply

