Spaëtzle

So, as you all know, I LOVE my pastas. But did you know one of my favorites isn’t even of Italian origin? I am a huge fan of this Central European gem, Spaëtzle.

20140212-193751.jpg

If you’ve never enjoyed this lovely dish think of it as a perfect blend between egg noodles and mini dumplings. Besides being delicious, it is also super easy and quick to make. I use a handy implement descriptively named a Spaëtzle maker, but I imagine large gauge cheese grater and an overturned cup would manage equally well. You just whip up the dough, and then run it over the grater, allowing small drops to fall into boiling water, when they raise to the top (mere seconds) they are done. To be scooped out and enjoyed! I enjoy them in particular served under regional dishes like: Chicken Paprikas, Goulash, Beef Stroganoff and Chicken Ghiveci.

20140212-193814.jpg

 

To make the dough combine the key three ingredients in the following ratio:

  • 1 egg
  • 1/3 cup milk
  • 1 cup flour
  • pinch of salt

That’s it, super easy and delicious Spaëtzle!

 

4 thoughts on “Spaëtzle

  1. Tab says:

    We made this in foods class in HS and that was the only time I ever had it. My kitchen partner was a dolt and added a ton of salt so ours was yuck. I’m sure yours is delicious.

  2. Tabitha says:

    And you of course delivered. Matt hasn’t gotten around to making this for me yet though…

Leave a Reply

