Chocolate Chip Cookies

Honestly, I am not much of a dessert person. I only have one or two fancy desserts, and I only rarely make them. In fact it was a good thing Matt brought cookies to the Super Bowl, because honestly I hadn’t even gotten that far in my planning. There is one very key exception…In my household a meal is not complete until a piece of chocolate is consumed. And that usually takes the form of brownie bites, cookies, a mint chocolate or in desperate times a handful of chocolate chips.

Now I grew up with a standard chocolate chip recipe and loved it, I even spread that recipe (or at least the dough) to three continents (here’s looking at you Sarah, Katya and Lizzie). But alas it began to fail me, and my cookies kept coming out flat. Finally I decided for a change, and discovered this recipe a few months ago. So far I have made them a half dozen times for different friends and family, and they are always a hit.  Anyway just wanted to share the find.

20140211-120432.jpg

It is a pretty standard recipe, but I think the dissolving the baking soda does make a difference. I bake them for about 11 minutes, and then let them sit on the tray until they are solid enough to just be plucked up and put on the cooking rack.

You will need:

  • 2 cubes butter
  • 1 cup white sugar
  • 1 cup brown sugar
  • 2 eggs
  • vanilla
  • salt
  • baking soda
  • flour
  • chocolate chips

This batch makes about 30 +/- depending on cookie size and dough snacking levels.

Enjoy!

2 thoughts on “Chocolate Chip Cookies

  1. Tab says:

    Friendly reminder that you still owe Bryson (and me) brownies. We will consider accepting these as substitute.

Leave a Reply

