Recovery Soup

Having had a stomach bug the last few days, I have been keeping my food options pretty boring. Fortunately the husband is not ill, so I had to think of something bland and boring that could easily be transformed into something enjoyable to the normal person as well. Here is what I came up with, an Asian inspired chicken noodle soup

20130102-184728.jpgMy bland and boring soup

20130102-184741.jpg
David’s less boring soup

What I used:

  • dried asian noodles
  • chicken broth
  • chicken breast
  • seasonings
  • soy sauce
  • fresh ginger
  • spinach
  • mushroom
  • hot oil
  • sesame oil

What I did for the bland soup:

  1. sautéd diced chicken in soy sauce*
  2. season as it cooks
  3. meanwhile heat broth in a saucepan*
  4. add dried noodles cooking to soft
  5. add several slices of ginger*
  6. simmer until chicken is cooked
  7. add chicken and serve….

What I did next for the good stuff:

  1. sautéd sliced mushrooms
  2. wilt spinach in
  3. pour bland soup into bowl
  4. add a dash of sesame oil
  5. add appropriate amount of hot oil dashes (D took 6)
  6. add mushrooms and spinach and serve

* cooked chicken, noodles, broth, ginger and soy sauce all are recommended for eating when your stomach is recovering.

Tagged , ,

3 thoughts on “Recovery Soup

  1. Tab says:

    Can I use ghetto Ramen noodles or do you have a particular brand recommendation?

    • Vagabondista says:

      I always have a stash of ghetto Ramen noodles, so those totally work. That reminds me I should do my ramen, ground beef veggie meal. It is a carry-over from childhood, and definitely a Frugal Foodies type dish.

  2. Tabitha says:

    Hmm. I will look forward to that. We often added veggies & eggs to the boiling Ramen. yumyumyum

Leave a Reply

